Spigola

Speaking of 8 weight rods

Rate this topic

9 posts in this topic

I have one use it all the time for Snook , Reds , Trout . Lady , Jacks . Been two years now  The D stands for distance .  Here is the best I can explain the Helios .  compared to other rods & I'm no expert or even experienced with other rods " less effort makes the rod do its thing "  . With the Orvis All Rounder line it matches very well. Extremely lite casting rod . It's going to be different in the beginning because you think you want to haul HUGE !  nada , least is better IMOP . Hold on to you panties .  I compare it to a graphite golf club , less effort more distance & control .   I tested at an Orvis store also bought a Helios D 12w  also , went out with a few guides who had workhorse rods it's no comparison .   

Spig, didn't I recently read that you were in the process of downsizing your rod collection. The best laid plans of mice and men as they say,with that being said "I think I would jump on that deal".

On 4/9/2019 at 2:29 AM, Mike Oliver said:

Spigs

Come on. You are goingo buy this rod whatever anyone might say. You are a sucker for a deal.

Nice stick.

oly

You are correct Mike.

37 mins ago, bonefishdick said:

Spig, didn't I recently read that you were in the process of downsizing your rod collection. The best laid plans of mice and men as they say,with that being said "I think I would jump on that deal".

I did downsize drastically but a man has to have at least one light saltwater fly rod, right?