captahab416

MA fishing laws, protect yourself

Rate this topic

15 posts in this topic

Robs encounter with that unsavory gentleman prompted me to finally get my act together. I have had some run ins as well but never had the laws printed out to back me up. Did some poking around and this is what I could gather. Im not a lawyer but I would imagine this would be enough to cover you if you find yourself in a similar predicament. All info was copy and pasted straight from the mass.gov

Massachusetts General Laws

Chapter 91: Massachusetts Public Waterfront Act Overview

The Commonwealth's primary tool for protection and promotion of public use of its tidelands and other waterways is Massachusetts General Law Chapter 91, the waterways licensing program. The Commonwealth formally established the program in 1866, but the philosophy behind Chapter 91 dates back to the earliest days of the Massachusetts Bay Colony, most notably in the Colonial Ordinances of 1641-1647.The Colonial Ordinances codified the "public trust doctrine," a legal principle that dates back nearly 2000 years, which holds that the air, the sea and the shore belong not to any one person, but rather to the public at large. Through Chapter 91, the Commonwealth seeks to preserve and protect the rights of the public, and to guarantee that private uses of tidelands and waterways serve a proper public purpose. The Waterways Regulation Program, the section of MassDEP that oversees Chapter 91, is the primary division charged with implementing the "public trust doctrine." Specifically, the MassDEP Waterways Regulation Program: