STVK

Advice for surf fishing with my kids at Sandy Hook

Rate this topic

17 posts in this topic

Although we fish frequently in our lakes and streams at home I am fairly new to surf fishing and my 2 children (11 and 8) are also very interested in anything fishing.  Last year we took our first family trip to Sandy Hook and we had fun (there were a few fish thank goodness) and we plan on taking another trip in about 2 weeks to try our hand at stripers and winter flounder.  We are going equipped with 2 surf rods (10' and 8') and two of my medium-light rods (6'6" range) that we use at the lakes around home, the surf rods will have Daiwa BG reels (5000 and 3000) with 20lb braid on the bigger reel and 17lb mono on the smaller reel, the lighter rods will have Daiwa BG 2000 series with 15lb braid.  Also we have sinkers from 1oz to 5oz and circle hooks ranging from #2 all the way to 8/0, bucktail jig in a few different sizes, top water lures, metal spoons and some Berkley Gulp that I keep reading the flounder like.  Is there any advice you may give from rigs that might work better this time of year, bait, etc.. and do you think I would be better off on the North side of the beach and is there any benefits on fishing either the ocean side or bay side of the hook?   I read the post about spot burning and I am not asking for that kind of information, but just a little insight, please don't get yourself in trouble if I am asking the wrong questions.  Thank you for any advice you are will to give to help me keep this fun for the kids.

Posted (edited) · Report post

It all depends on when and on the ability and desire of the kids

It's still early, but you can spike the two big rods on the ocean side with bunker chunks and/or clams and see if something comes along. Smooth Dogfish should be showing soon and as much as we hate the things, kids love em (little sharks without sharp teeth) and there have been some sporadic small bass and even a few super early blues around