nightfighter

Knee replacement info needed

Rate this topic

35 posts in this topic

I blew out my ACL in 1975 or 1976. Partial tear of MCL then too. Meniscus was cleaned up from a tear. Then second meniscus surgery within the next ten years. Fast forward to yesterday. Been living with bum knee full of arthritis for many years. Stepped forward with good leg onto foam mat at jobsite. Mat was to keep us out of water from melting snow... Left foot slides forward on the mat, which is sliding on the melt. Right knee folds up behind me, and I land on my back with the leg pinned under me and my heel hitting my butt. Doc thinks I have torn the Posterior Cruciate now. Scheduling MRI....

So... it may be time. I am a self employed contractor, or was when I woke up yesterday. Not being able to kneel on it would be a concern. But if I have any rehab ahead of me, I would like to be as pain free as possible on the other side of it. What do you know? 

And I am 61 years old.

my BIL is  a union tin knocker and had it done. had some complications duo to not being religious about the PT, but he was back to work relatively quickly and is still doing it....)his biggest issue, honestly, is his weight). 

I've had both mine done. Everyone is different and have different results. I cannot kneel on my knees without pads and even then, only for short time frames. So activities or work that required kneeling generally morphed into sitting to get the job done. Overall, much better than prior to surgery so I would say there's no reason not to get it done.