HugeDinghy

2019 fishing goals

Rate this topic

68 posts in this topic

what are your fishing goals for 2019...new species...new places....new techniques you want to get better at...…personal bests.....?

My goal is to beat my PB; learn a new spot; and start focusing on the lower part of the water column more.  I have been to focused on swimming plugs (wood and plastic), and not tossing enough lead or swim shads.  And to try and fish more, not just during "optimal" conditions.

11 mins ago, HugeDinghy said:

what are your fishing goals for 2019...new species...new places....new techniques you want to get better at...…personal bests.....?

Will be singularly focused on needlefish lures this season.  I did bucktails last year and got very good with them.  Have to be disciplined enough to stick with the needles.  I think that the only way to do that is to leave everything else in the car.

I'm fairly new to surf casting.  I would say that my goals are to simply become more versed in some different lures and baits.  I would like to try eel fishing and catch some larger bass as well...

I'm looking forward to getting back into Northeast fishing.  I'll be logging some windshield time between Jersey and Boston for the new job so I'll throw some gear in the truck and check out new areas to surf fish.  I also get a kick out of drifting live eels for bass on boats.  Will hit any open party charter boats in RI, CT, NY etc while I'm out and about. 

I want to catch a pike and a Muskie as well. 

Fish more than last year, and that was a lot. But really to fish at night with Eels more and more Flounder fishing. All from the surf , Eels at inlet.

For the salt, a PB fluke is my goal; I need to break the 8lb mark!

In the sweet water, a PB largemouth bass on the fly would do it. Currently sitting at just over 3 lbs.

Other than that, I'd love a couple good surf striper trips and a few bluefin tuna in the summer! 

Im proud to say I accomplished my 2018 personal goals.