IFish4Free

Visit to Montauk

Rate this topic

32 posts in this topic

Hey guys, I’m new to surf fishing and seen a lot of videos/post about Montauk.  I will be visiting New York mid September and would love to spend 1-2 days fishing Montauk.  I’m looking for a spinning travel rod to pair with my Penn Slammer 3 6500, leaning towards the St. Croix travel rod I see on Tackle Direct.  Is there any recommendations or suggestions, the rating I see on the St. Croix seems a bit ‘weak’ for the large stripers I tend to see at Montauk.

Any inputs would be highly appreciated.

Thank you 

3 hours ago, ThuanTran said:

Hey guys, I’m new to surf fishing and seen a lot of videos/post about Montauk.  I will be visiting New York mid September and would love to spend 1-2 days fishing Montauk.  I’m looking for a spinning travel rod to pair with my Penn Slammer 3 6500, leaning towards the St. Croix travel rod I see on Tackle Direct.  Is there any recommendations or suggestions, the rating I see on the St. Croix seems a bit ‘weak’ for the large stripers I tend to see at Montauk.

Any inputs would be highly appreciated.

Thank you 

Try to hire Bill Weztel as your guide when you come to NY.  If you don’t know Montauk he can get you on the fish. 

11 hours ago, FlatWing said:

I do not have any personal experience with travel surf rods, but have read good things about the Daiwa Ardito Travel Surf Rods.

That was my second option behind the St. Croix.  Thank you 

7 hours ago, mike3dr said:

Try to hire Bill Weztel as your guide when you come to NY.  If you don’t know Montauk he can get you on the fish. 

I’ve seen his interview on YouTube, totally passionate about surf fishing for stripe bass.  Thank you 

Posted (edited) · Report post

50 mins ago, ThuanTran said:

I’ve seen his interview on YouTube, totally passionate about surf fishing for stripe bass.  Thank you