wtfooptimax200

Canal Jig Shape

Rate this topic

34 posts in this topic

Posted (edited) · Report post

A few recent posts have inspired me to pose this question, it seems like it may turn into a fun debate.  As a Canal newbie, I have no skin in the game on this one and will be happy to learn from any responses to the post.  Here goes:

What's your favorite jighead shape for the canal?  There are obviously a myriad of choices....

THE INTENT OF THIS QUESTION IS TO SPARK A DEBATE ON HEAD SHAPE, NOT PLASTIC VS BUCKTAIL.  PLEASE IGNORE THE BACK PORTION OF THE HEAD FOR THIS DISCUSSION.  SORRY FOR ANY CONFUSION.

Do-It Hot Lips Jig MoldsDo-It Bullet Nose Jig Molds473279.jpgDo-It Spearhead Jig MoldsSavage Gear Sand Eel Jighead 3pk

Edited by wtfooptimax200
EDITED TO CLARIFY QUESTION

23 mins ago, b-ware said:

What answer are you looking for????  The jig heads you are showing a  mix of rubber and bucktail...…………. 

I'll edit my post...I'm talking about the head shape only, ignore the back half.

1 hour ago, wtfooptimax200 said:

I'll edit my post...I'm talking about the head shape only, ignore the back half.

What Sandbars said, the rounded head with the center to forward eye is the least likely to hang up.  For fast water a narrow profile is your best bet, like an Upperman Style or an ultra minnow style (Spro).  The Spire type as you have shown is a good all around head especially on sandy bottoms as it will kick up puffs of sand when worked on the bottom.  The Savage style head is my least favorite especially in the canal as it's pointy, narrow  shape digs into the mussel beds and hangs up.

7 hours ago, wtfooptimax200 said:

A few recent posts have inspired me to pose this question, it seems like it may turn into a fun debate.  As a Canal newbie, I have no skin in the game on this one and will be happy to learn from any responses to the post.  Here goes:

What's your favorite jighead shape for the canal?  There are obviously a myriad of choices....