Overmodulated

how important is reverse in Mirage drive?

63 posts in this topic

Kayak Newbie here.   Am considering the Hobie Compass because I like the size and weight, but am bumbed about its drive having no reverse.   I expect to do a lot of saltwater fishing with it.   Could anyone share their thoughts on the importance of this missing capability?

Many thanks!

In saltwater I don't need reverse unless I am fishing boulder fields which is never. For freshwater, I use reverse a lot especially in rivers. So I would say for saltwater if you are fishing open bays, ocean the reverse in unnecessary.

as noted above, it depends on what you do.  in the salt, I almost never use it.  But if I fished bridges or tight spots, I would.  I use it sometimes in FW.

I also used Hobies for ten years before they added reverse and never felt that I was missing anything...

Posted (edited) · Report post

Exactly what everyone else said. I have a 2014 Outback and have done just fine without it. It may make it easier depending on tides and what you are trying to do...ie: fishing structure. Hobie customers have fished without the reverse for many years and did just fine.

Edited by Pma531

I have both drives and when I am out with the reversible I very rarely use it. I suppose if I were in a situation where I had to back away from docks it would he convenient.   If its a case where you'd save money not taking the non-reversible drive I'd recommend not going for it.  You could buy a hand paddle for $30!

Definitely not necessary, but I like having it. Sometimes while fluking, flipping the fins to reverse gives me the drift line that I'm looking for. And I use it constantly for togging. Much easier to back up to the boulder I'm working than doing the wide circle.

While fluke and seabass fishing, if I’m underway and spot a piece of structure on the ff I can put it in reverse and come to a stop instead of going another 10 yards before I can drop my bucktail.