JimJ

Brevard County options

Rate this topic

13 posts in this topic

I have been visiting family in Melbourne for many years and usually find decent surf fishing whenever I am here for a variety of fish, usually pompano whiting bluefish jacks etc.  The last 2 weeks of north winds and heavy surf have made the beach pretty unfishable with about 50-70 yards of flat beach with 2-3 feet of water in front of the trough at low tide.  In early January the bluefish and whiting bite was pretty good.  I expect that it will take a couple weeks of normal conditions to straighten it out.  I am looking for other options for land based fishing.  Is there any worthwhile fishing along the causeways crossing the Indian  River.  I was thinking of throwing small plugs and jigs if it is worthwhile this time of year.  Latey I don’t see hardly anyone fishing there though.  Any other options?

Hi Jim,  I don't fish there myself but you may want to take a drive to Sebastian Inlet, not too far from Melbourne. I've been fishing south of there in the intercoastal, water in the river has been in the 60's where I am, and it seems to have slowed the bite, but it's worth a try. I think south of Sebastian there is also some roadside access to the intercoastal that you could check out as well.  

Thanks for the reply. If the beach my way isn’t fishable Monday I’ll take a drive south and check out the lagoon south of Sebastian.  Maybe beach further south will be in better shape too. Is best access to lagoon off A1A on the beach side or off the inland side of the lagoon?  In a year or so when I move down here I’ll get a boat and have limitless options.  Lol

With the grass dying off in the IRL, and having been born and raised here, I believe I would look further south. It will be years before this area cleans up its act and stops letting nutrients overload the river and ruin it.