Remington 45 Golden Saber +P or No?

Rate this topic

mako20ft

After agonizing over model and barrel length...from Buds I expect my FFL to have a Rock Island CS in 45 by around next Tuesday.  Basis specs pasted here.

Rock Island 51479 Rock Ultra CS Single 45 ACP 3.5" 7+1 Gray G10 Grip Black Parkerized

35198.jpg

I added (2) extra Mec-Gar 7rd mags and boxes of Winchester Ball to break it in.  Anyway, the Golden Saber 185gr has a solid reputation but does anyone have any real world experience with +P versus standard pressure (doesn't have to be Golden Saber)?  Again, 3-1/2" barrel so (admittedly a guess) velocity is going to be low regardless of what I select.  Both are available, $13.99 either for a box of 25 and $6.99 flat rate shipping.  Knowing me I'll stash a case so your input makes a difference.

FWIW, I've got plenty of experience with 380, 9mm, 38's and 357.  We can talk ballistics till we're blue just somehow, even with 9yrs military I just never got the 45 bug so I'm fixing it.

Thoughts...

The wheels on my reels go round and round...round and round...round and round...

....as long as it leaves the muzzle at +800/fps your ok.....sorry, but never had any luck with  3.5" Bbl. 1911's.....springs.  Smallest I'd go in a 1911 is 4.25 Commander length....OMO.

Edited by Mr. Bigdeal

"Law enforcement’ is not something sovereign citizens seize from police officers. It is a societal function that citizens delegate to civil police.

In so doing, we do not abdicate our own sovereignty, nor our duties as citizens. Ultimate responsibility is still ours. When those we hire as our “Protectors” are either unwilling or unable to perform that function at the critical moment, there is no law, nor standard, that says we cannot perform it for ourselves"........ John Farnam.

"Gird Your Loins"

3 hours ago, LBI SurfRat said:

No experience with that ammo.