Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Capt.Castafly

Surgeons Knot

Rate this topic

27 posts in this topic

Every time I get a Doctor slash fly fishermen on board, I ask them do you use the Surgeons Knot in your medical practice. 

We both get a chuckle when half will say, "What's that? Never heard of it? Nope, why would I use it?

I guess it's an old antiquated practice that must go way back when they sutured with thread.

I'm not a doctor but I use the surgeons knot all the time - it's my go to for dissimilar diameter lines :)

1 hour ago, Capt.Castafly said:

Every time I get a Doctor slash fly fishermen on board, I ask them do you use the Surgeons Knot in your medical practice. 

We both get a chuckle when half will say, "What's that? Never heard of it? Nope, why would I use it?

I guess it's an old antiquated practice that must go way back when they sutured with thread.

I’m surprised so many are unaware of what a surgeons knot is. It’s still used pretty often.

Side note.  I'm going through a ten-year pile of Fly Fishing in SW, and then a ten year pile of Eastern Fly Fishing.  Capt. Castafly, you had quite a few articles there, over the years.

1 hour ago, BrianBM said:

Side note.  I'm going through a ten-year pile of Fly Fishing in SW, and then a ten year pile of Eastern Fly Fishing.  Capt. Castafly, you had quite a few articles there, over the years.

Thanks Brian for noticing. That was so kind.

I used to write for four national mags. I've had a good run in the Fly Fishing Industry. Some good innovative ideas along the way that people would say, Why didn't I think of that?

My Ex. would say, he's not good at anything, but he does know how to fish?

Lots of my fishing clients have caught record size fish on a fly.  I've been blessed to be a part of their memories.   

13 hours ago, TimS said:

I'm not a doctor but I use the surgeons knot all the time - it's my go to for dissimilar diameter lines :)