z-man

Fishing/parking in Dennis?

Rate this topic

10 posts in this topic

I’ve been informed that our annual weeklong trip with friends to Truro is being moved to Dennis this year. I think our friends are too scared of sharks and wanted a change.  I think it’s a horrible idea but we’re staying near Mayflower beach in August. I’ve never fished in that area. What is the fishing like in that area by shore or kayak and more importantly what is parking like?  Do you need a permit to park at the beaches early in the morning.  The bass river is also not too far away so I could bring the kayak there. Does anyone know if you need a parking permit for the Wilbur Park boat launch?

thanks

I'm a summer resident of Dennis. You do need a permit to park at the beaches during Beach Hours (8-5) ... you can park, or at least you have always been able to park hassle-free early and late. Being at Mayflower Beach, you can access some good evening spots ... Corporation Beach, Chapin Beach ... definately good kayaking, and I'd focus on Barnstable Harbor for that.There are several places to launch from ... you just need to pick the right tide (launch on the outgoing and come in on the in-coming). You can also launch out of Mayflower beach, and either go west toward Barnstable Harbor, or go east toward Corporation beach and the rocky points between their and Sesuit. Early AM or evening launch at Paines Landing in Brewster gets you over the flats ... do that on a high tide and you should have opportunities. I fish quite a bit at Sesuit and the flats east. You should still be able to get your fishing fix. I'd stay away from Bass River in August ... the bass fishing dries up on the southside beaches after June.

Ping me when you get down there