bradW

Best BOW for a beginner

Rate this topic

15 posts in this topic

I've drifted away from fishing over the past year or so due to increased responsibilities and a damn leg fracture. With that I have found the desire to find a different hobby as the fishing itch hasn't really come back. I listen to a lot of podcasts about the outdoors and one thing they talk about a lot is shooting bow. I am asking for recommendations for a start from scratch. I have zero experience shooting anything. The idea of shooting a bow is very appealing to me, and maybe one day to go bow hunting. 

Thanks in advance.

I would recommend finding a good archery shop.  You will drastically cut down on your learning curve by spending time with people involved in the sport.

Reedys archery in Middleboro is worth the drive. They have the best range around (indoor/outdoor). The owner loves the sport and sharing all he knows.

Are you interested in modern compound bows or something more traditional?

There are  year round archery courses. The 3D circuit is a fun way to spend a Sunday morning. They are usually held at rod and gun clubs along with a breakfast. 

There are some cool FB groups as well.

Reedy’s is your best bet. I’d recommend the Mission line of bows, as they aren’t going to set you back too much (in relative terms).

I’d recommend going in there and telling one of the guys exactly what you just told us. They’ll shoot with you a little bit and get you up to speed. You might have to pay for an hour of range time or something, but that’s well worth it.

If a new bow is out of the question, I’d recommend a Mathews Switchback XT or a Mathews Drenalin. You can probably get set up with a full package for about $350ish. The Switchback XT is definitely one of their best bows ever.

Just be aware that if you’re looking for a new bow, you’re probably looking at $1500-$2200 to get a full set up. And bows are like golf clubs, they only hold their value for a couple years.