Murdoc

Google Earth/Dirty Water

Rate this topic

13 posts in this topic

Long time lurking. First time posting.

I was recently on google earth. I noticed the satellite must have refreshed the images of the coastline on the east coast. You can really notice the mud line in the ocean. I wish this was done sooner as it might have helped people this fall find cleaner water.  It’s disheartening to read negative surf fishing reports as I’m new to surfcasting. Hopefully something changes with the striper migration pattern because I’m not interested in fishing for skates. Here’s some numbers of what people are spending for recreational fishing in New Jersey. 

https://www.app.com/story/sports/outdoors/fishing/hook-line-and-sinker/2018/12/15/new-jersey-fishermen-spent-300-m-tackle-report/2320625002/

Edited by Murdoc

Welcome. Those are some impressive rec fishing numbers. I haven't checked google earth lately but I would say that is probably not the best tool to use for finding clean water. It is a good tool for finding spots, access points, parking, hard structure, etc. The reports thread would be your best tool for finding clean water as that is commonly mentioned.

You seem to be concerned about stripped bass numbers. I think that is a very valid fear to have. Im relatively new to the sport myself...been in it for about a year and half. I do talk to a lot of experienced surf fisherman and they absolutely confirm that there is a big problem with population. Bottom line is..yes there is a problem and there is a huge debate on how to fix it. Some people even refuse to acknowledge it. Hopefully it all gets resolved before its too late.