Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Goudacuda

off shore Black Sea bass tips

Rate this topic

8 posts in this topic

gonna be going out on the big Jamaica hopefully Wednesday night, any tips on how heavy my tackle should be, around how much lead I would be using, jig weights, anything, this is my first time going out on a trip that isn't inshore. thanks in advance 

You will need sinkers from 16oz to 24oz. Under normal condition 18oz will do. 12-14oz jig should be fine...

There is info on the big Jamaica web site.

Edited by levari

You'll hopefully be fishing in 160ft+, if they go all the way out to a spot like the Triple Wrecks or Carolina.

Big Sea Bass, and maybe a Cod or Pollack are in the mix.

Braid helps.  I go with 50lb mainline (braid), 20ft or so of 40lb mono (for abrasion resistance against the wreck), and I tie my rigs with 30lb test.  If you snag, you want to be able to break it off at the rig, not somewhere on your mainline.

If there's not a lot of current, you'll be fine with 16oz weights, but be prepared with some 20 and 24.

2 dropper loops about 2 feet apart with a 6/0-7/0 hook on it (you want BIG Sea Bass, not runts), and a loop at the bottom for your sinker.

If there's a good bite going, you should be able to limit out on Sea Bass pretty easily, and on bigger fish, so don't throw a bunch of 13" fish in your cooler right off the bat if you see bigger ones coming over the rail.  You want to come home with 15 Sea Bass that are about 20", in a perfect world.

Bring a spare bucket to use for bleeding your fish, and get a nice saltwater brine going in your cooler.  Take care of your catch; they're excellent eating.

Good luck, those trips can be a lot of fun.

Couple more things..............