Shane_O

New England Holdover Striper Advice

Rate this topic

16 posts in this topic

I’m a novice, having only lived and fished the RI south shore for 5 years (and only fished it seriously for 2). With that said, I’ve always had the itch to get out there and fish throughout the winter months, even if it means freezing my ass off to no avail.

I assume fishing for holdover stripers may be similar to fishing for other species during the cold months (they’re lethargic, feed less aggressively, and a slow presentation is key), but I’m looking for some sage advice to better my odds. Any tips on the striper’s winter forage or general habitats? Is it pretty much left to the rivers or do they also hole up in salt ponds?

Any advice is welcome! Thanks

I don’t fish RI very often but if you asked the same question about Mass I would give you the same answer,  find some nice estuaries, many have Stripers that actually hold over.

I've had luck around water discharge plants in the capital area of RI this time of year.  The water temps are warmer in these areas.

Your assumptions are solid in regards to slow presentations; low and slow with small bucktails, white/blue superflukes on jig heads, super shads etc.  Wouldn't hurt to tie on a teaser as well.

Edited by DEM Parking Lot

Bass Assasins Curlytail Shads or Sea Shads on leadheads will get it done.   I like bright neon colors in the cold dark waters.  

Let's see some pictures when you score.  Good luck!

Thanks guys! You seem to have confirmed some of my assumptions and I’ve got some new hints to go off of as well. It’s a beautiful out and all my civic duties are done for the day so I might gear up and try some spots.

You should before it's hard water fishing in the Northeast.   I only need January & February to complete the calendar year but know of a few guys on board here who have it all almost annually.   I'm just not that dedicated to cold weather angling.