preyan

surf rod recommendations

Rate this topic

15 posts in this topic

Hello guys, I am looking for recommendations with regards to the surf rod lengths, I was looking at the forums but could not find this type of information for the type of rod I have in mind

A bit of the background: I’m new to surf fishing and can only assume that I would be throwing some plugs and bucktails in ½ oz- 3oz. I live in Brooklyn so I would be mostly fishing Rockaways, Jamaica Bay and some inlets that are nearby – mostly shallow waters with sandy bottoms and, I assume some currents

From what I understand I would need a 9’ to 10’ spinning rod.

Question: is there is a strong reason to go 9’ or 10’ for the type of fishing I likely would be doing?

I’d also appreciate any advice/information regard a specific rod model that would work for my case (if possible I’d like to spend <$130 for the rod). So far I’m leaning towards either Penn Battalion 9’/10’ (¾-3) or to TICA UGSA (½-3) 9’. Btw, I got Kastking Sharky Baitfeeder III 4000 reel – not sure whether it would work with 10’ or even 9’ rods

Go with a 10ft. On the back side of the bay, the fish hang in the channels mostly. Those channels can be quite the distance from shore and distance matters. On the ocean side the fish can be right in the wash 10 ft from shore but when the surf is big a bigger rod helps a little.

Thank you, guys. Sounds like consensus is to start with a longer rod. Do you think my 4000 reel (Kastking Sharky Baitfeeder III) would work with 10' rod, or should I look into something heaver?

dickd - Elite is a bit outside of my range, but I'll try to find a used one, thank you for the tip

sbcbmx112 - are you referring to 9' SG90IS or SG1230S90? 10' is 2-5 oz and seems to be too heavy for what I need

8 hours ago, dickd said:

You could compromise on rod length and get a 9'6" Tsunami Airwave Elite for a very reasonable price. It's a light rod with backbone and lots of fun to fish.