baldwin

Rod stiffness and conventional plugging

Rate this topic

31 posts in this topic

A friend lent me a honey Lami blank (I think it's 10') and I tried it with the Squidder yesterday, tossing a Roberts Ranger. The rod loaded nice and smoothly, not a hint of any beginning overruns on the Squidder's spool for the 20 minutes or so that I was casting it (I'm no pro with the Squidder). I think the bend of the rod may have influenced the smoothness of the cast on the conventional reel. Anyone have similar, or different, experiences with rod stiffness and performance of conventional reels?

I have a 11foot honey lami. If you load it nice and slow it will give you a nice smooth cast. I have a squidder for it but usually use a Abu 6500 ct. It fights big fish really nice too. 

My experience has been similar. Parabolic rods are definitely more forgiving when casting conventional. I fished conventional almost exclusively for about 5 years then went back to spinning because I didn’t have a rod I was happy with. I had been using inexpensive factory rods that were better suited to bait fishing. I finally bit the bullet and built a 1201m (old school) conventional and, although I’ve only test casted it so far I think it will be perfect. More forgiving than the stuff I had been using and better suited for the weights i’ll be throwing. Looking forward to next season when I can actualy fish with it. 

Indeed true about para-bolics,they will help your swing.

I fish winches exclusively and with a stiffer rod you always want to try and stay inside it's ratings[going by feel and experience with said rod] to keep them on the forgiving side of things.

if you are fishing with a rod that is rated say 3-8oz and your plug is 4-5 oz,it will help your swing by loading the rod correctly.

a 2 oz plug will not do it,,,maybe,,, [depending on the tip\action].

also you have to develop the "feel" for that rod\lure so you know how it will function on the swing.