juang123

Lures in Murky/Dirty Water

Rate this topic

11 posts in this topic

Howdy! Fishing newbie here with another question, what are some good lures or lure colors for dirty/murky water? I'm targeting schoolie striped bass and bigger. There's a lot of rain coming my way down here in CT, but I just can't wait the two to three days of water clearing up after all this rain. That's probably just what I have to do to catch a few fish but I still really wanna try! The conditions are probably gonna be cloudy, breaks in between when its gonna rain in the day, I'm gonna fish in a creek and then the mouth that connects it to a channel and marina/harbor. I hate playing damn video games inside and would rather save it for the winter! All help is VERY appreciated!!!

Tight lines!

A general rule of thumb is that black contrasts better than others in murky water. Firetiger or white with black mackerel bars was always a go-to in muddy river mouths all the years I fished in CT. If fishing ok a bright night, some chrome wouldn’t hurt either. 

Yes, rattle. Noises like a couple of metal dipsy sinkers knocking into each other.

If there’s rocks around, rig a bait style approach with cheap lead at the end and a short dropper loop just above. Put a hook with soft plastic on that dropper. Cast out and let the lead hit the rocks to make a knocking sound. You’ll snag but you might convince a striper that your offering is a crustacean making a click sound on the rocks. 

I also have read other people say, and tend to have had this experience, that jerkbait style retrieve and the swimming plugs with the most motion work best in chocolate water. Maybe a rapala xrap, and hard cranking an sp minnow or some metal lips. 

I also tend to believe that bigger is better in dirty water conditions - no matter what “the hatch” is at that time.