Robert_Moses

Hickory Shad This Year

Rate this topic

28 posts in this topic

Has anyone noticed a strange abundance of shad this year?  I have been fishing for 10 years so by no means do I have a ton of experience but I’ve been catching shad for months off of the ocean beaches on diamond jigs which I would have always imagined to be too big to catch them on.  They also seem aggressive.  With that many baitfish around it’s surprising to me that not much else is happening currently.  Just wanted to get everyone’s thoughts.

B77A0C59-8D79-4AD4-A6BB-2DAFD9D80F71.jpeg

What I see is the dolphin pods herding them and keeping them tight to beach.

They are however massive,  based on the some of the shad I am catching, if you are matching the hatch you must be catching 50 lb stripers

Exactly my point on the size!  Would take a massive striper to eat these things.  Some of the shad I’m catching are fighting like small cocktail blues and  are coming in in the 2 pound range.  Bizzarro world, at least for what I’m used to.  I purposely switched to daiwa minnows to try to outsize them in terms of bait and still couldn’t cast without catching one !

Posted (edited) · Report post

56 mins ago, baldadonis2002 said:

What I see is the dolphin pods herding them and keeping them tight to beach.

They are however massive,  based on the some of the shad I am catching, if you are matching the hatch you must be catching 50 lb stripers

This one gave me a good laugh. Not 50 lbs not yet but some impressive fish for sure. Even a small striper will eat a huge bait. Small being 36 inch 

Edited by hydraman