squammer

New Fly Rod Worthwhile for Beginner? Current stick 9WT Gold Cup

40 posts in this topic

Posted (edited)

Hello everyone, I am a new fly-fishing addict. I have caught a bunch of small schoolie stripers this season (my first season) using a rod+reel I bought on craigslist for $100.00. I am wondering if upgrading my rod will benefit me even though I am a novice that really can only cast 30-40 feet with any control. Since this is becoming a real passion, I am into the idea of getting a good rod -- but only if it's worthwhile...

I currently have a 9 foot, 9/10 WT 2 piece rod that says Gold Cup on it near the cork grip. I don't really know the real brand. It's all black color and probably from the early 2000's or maybe even late 90's (total guess). My real is a Scientific Anglers System 2 reel that works fine, although a larger arbor would be nice to faster line pick-up and less line memory coils. I bought some nice striped bass blue intermediate line in a 10 WT for this setup and it's been great. I fish for Striped Bass off my 15' center console boat in the North Shore of MA area (Gloucester, Ipswich, Essex, Marblehead, etc) as well as off friends' boats in the cape when I get down there (Brewster flats, Monomoy flats, other Chatham and Orleans areas). I also occasionally fish from last off docks, etc. My best success has been casting into incoming tide rush moving water at night using Tabory black snake fly but I also cast deceivers and clouser minnows.

Focusing on the rod at this point (and not reel quite yet), would a newer rod with updated technology be of any real benefit to me? I was hoping to keep the rod price in the sub-$500 range and I am open to used gear. I can't help but be interested in the lower price range rods like Orvis Clearwater as well. 

Casting lessons are planned for also, so it's not a matter of paying X for a rod when it could go to lessons. I am already going to do some lessons and I already understand this.