How long does your gear last?

Rate this topic

cubeconvict

I'm a complete newbie.  So far I have only been using trout gear I had on hand.  I can't jump in at the $300+ rig level and so I am shopping around for modest setups. Durability and all that is a top concern for me since I am new and will probably abuse things more than an experienced angler would.

My question is this... do you really think that a $200 reel lasts 4 times longer than a $50 reel, or whatever other math and multipliers you can think of?  Why not get $30-$50 reels and consider them kind of disposable?

Like a lot of folks when they started you go cheap, for me I started cheap next thing I knew I had a bunch of  cheap fishing gear I wasn't using ...... if you think surf fishing is for you then buy the third set up first ... if I lived closer to the beach and could fish more I just might drop the coin on a Van Staal or another one of those Daiwa Japan only disco surf spinning reels..... right now I'm eyeing a Penn Conflict II long cast spinning reels for the 11' and 10' custom rods. 

"Obamacare: the efficiency of the DMV, the compassion of the IRS"

I am running a FJ 6K series stradic, that was a 200-250 dollar reel when it was new. They are out of production at this point.. just replaced line roller bearing and handle knob bearing and full service. Ready to go for 2019 surf season. Daiwa BG is another good cheap surf reel if I was buying new and on a budget.

2 hours ago, cubeconvict said:

I'm a complete newbie.  So far I have only been using trout gear I had on hand.  I can't jump in at the $300+ rig level and so I am shopping around for modest setups. Durability and all that is a top concern for me since I am new and will probably abuse things more than an experienced angler would.