FishermanTim

Duxbury is not worth the effort anymore...

Rate this topic

68 posts in this topic

Now I will begin by saying that the incident that occurred was my fault. I'm not disputing that.

My issue is that the attitude of the person involved was a little less than professional.

I was fishing the Powder Point bridge last night after high tide.

Now, I like fishing on the "wrong" side of the bridge during the falling tide because the fish tend to follow the bait as it gets washed out into the bay.

I don't fish there during the summer, and not during the early evening hours because of the constant traffic going back and forth.

I have been doing this for close to 25 years. On a handful of occasions I've been "reminded" by the harbormaster stationed there about doing this, but since I tend to fish later at night I don't tend to encounter them often.

Now last night I was confronted by a Duxbury police officer that began to berate me and threatened me with a $200+ citation for fishing the wrong side.

When he asked me why I liked fishing that side, I explained honestly why I do, and he pretty much called me a liar to my face. I can only presume that he doesn't fish and knows nothing about fishing that area.

In my 25 years of fishing that bridge I have encountered NUMEROUS officers that pass by on patrol. Many will stop and shoot the breeze about the fishing.

NEVER have they said anything about where I was fishing and NEVER took that tone right from the start.

Since I am not bait fishing, and the fish I am after seem to congregate on the inland side of the bridge, I don't fish the bay side much at all.

The fishing is poor at best (from my experiences) and all I end up with is a good walk.

Sadly, if they are going to fully enforce that rule on the bridge, I won't be making the trip any longer.

It's too far to travel for such little reward for the efforts.