ThrowinPlugs

Honest opinions on VM Series Reels?

Rate this topic

33 posts in this topic

Hey all, had a question. I had previously owned a VSX reel. It was great, but way more reel than I needed so I downgraded to a Slammer III. Not a huge fan. I'm thinking I want another VS, but really don't wanna shell out $650+ for one again. A local shop has VM's for under $300, and honestly they don't look as pretty and can't be reeled underwater (don't really care) but hey feel the same. I'm not huge on bailless either. Honest opinions?

I've been beating up my VM150 at the canal for 2 years with no issues so far. It handles big fish, has a smooth drag, and still works great despite a whole bunch of dings and scratches.

I own the VM 150 and in some

ways, I like it more than the regular VS. One thing you should know is that it has a hair trigger bail which closed on me accidentally several time. You can convert it to a manual bail but that also removes the rotor brake. Otherwise, it’s a great reel. Very solid feeling 

It’s not sealed. I can’t think of why you would put up with that clunky heaviness if you aren’t getting a sealed reel in exchange.  Personally, I’d rather fish a 100 dollar BG.

Edited by ThirstyOwl III

29 mins ago, ThirstyOwl III said:

It’s not sealed. I can’t think of why you would put up with that clunky heaviness if you aren’t getting a sealed reel in exchange.  Personally, I’d rather fish a 100 dollar BG.

According to Alan Hawk's review that's not true at all.

I have never owned the VM.  With the introduction of the VR, the VM has been discounted.  I don't know the future of the reel, but I expect it to go away.

I would ask myself this. Does the VM do anything the Shimano Saragosa or PENN Slammer won't do?  For $300 that is where I would look.

I have the slammer 3 and the 5500 size is so chunky and overall I just don't like it. I have a Saragosa that I love but the high gear ratio makes it a little fast for me. Maybe a Spheros?