Bought my first surf rod & reel I think I messed up

Rate this topic

RobH

Hi guys, I just bought my first surf rod 10ft  Ugly Stik Bigwater Surf Spinning Rod, and a Shimano baitrunner 8000D reel. My plan was to use this setup for fluke and striped bass, jigging and or bait. I’m new to surf fishing, so I’m unsure if this setup is a good match. If not, please help. Though I’m still looking to pick up a second rod and reel to jig while my baits sits. So if there is a different recommendation on a reel to buy for the uglystick or a rod to buy with the baitrunner, please let me know. Thanks ahead of time. I haven’t chosen an exact spot to go yet but I am in the are of Asbury Park NJ and sea bright Belmar.

My advice, go lighter.  I have an 8 footer for plugging and a 7 footer that is my primary go to set up.  Reel size, nothing bigger than a 4000.  Your going to catch more fish in the 20 to 30 inch range then the 30 to 40 inches.  Have some fun with a lighter setup and don't wear your arm out with something too big and heavy.

Pay attention to the weight rating on the rod, 2-6oz or whatever it is...that includes your bait and weight. The ugly stick will probably be too heavy for jigging in Nj, but it should be an OK bait rod. There are only 3 places here I usually use jigs 2+ozs and none of them are beaches, but I will use heavy jigs on beaches when there is a lot of current. St Croix Triumph was my go to recommendation for a beginner surf rod when I worked in a shop, along with the Tsunami Airwave or Airwave Elite depending on the persons experience fishing. Talk to tackle shops, talk to fisherman, makes some friends on the beach...the best way to learn is to be taught first hand

9 mins ago, HighEndHooker said:

The baitrunner is a great bait reel btw, I use them for all my bait fishing

Thank you for the help. The ugly stick rod I got is a medium heavy, 1-6. Will the 8000d baitrunner I bought work ok with this rod? Or should I downgrade the rod or reel?