Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Simplifly

9wt skagit setup?

Rate this topic

39 posts in this topic

The canal is on my bucket list, as is a reason to buy a skagit set up for my 9wt single hander. I had some fun with a 7wt OPST setup this summer. Do any of you have any other system recommendations? The OPST systems aren't cheap. I have a decent cast, and although I've very little experience with the skagit heads, I used to throw a lot of longer shooting heads and LC-13. I have an extra, substantial (12-13) reel that I've been saving for a two hander that I can use.  What about the skagit in the surf? I that even a thought? Thanks in advance.

spey  casting with traditional spey lines and skagit are not great in the surf. In fact in rolling surf it’s a frustrating waste of time. Overhead is the way forward.

If Sea is dead flat fine but then you are not surf fishing.

Opst lines are just short skagits If you are casting them ok then it’s only a case of a longer head with more std skagit lines.

For the canal single hander think 10 wt. Helpful if you are experienced in fighting big fish in confined spaces crowds and big current.

There is a mass of info on TH rods. Long thread Just recently which you can scroll down to find.

mike

Edited by Mike Oliver

5 hours ago, Simplifly said:

The canal is on my bucket list, as is a reason to buy a skagit set up for my 9wt single hander. I had some fun with a 7wt OPST setup this summer. Do any of you have any other system recommendations? The OPST systems aren't cheap. I have a decent cast, and although I've very little experience with the skagit heads, I used to throw a lot of longer shooting heads and LC-13. I have an extra, substantial (12-13) reel that I've been saving for a two hander that I can use.  What about the skagit in the surf? I that even a thought? Thanks in advance.