icarussound

Black Sea bass in Florida

10 posts in this topic

I’ve been out in my outback off the SE Florida coast 6 times, first two limited fishing gear,  no problems, third was a wipe out and a painful one at that! The last three were good and I’m just beginning to find my way around here. My first fish was exactly not what I wanted - a spinner shark - but it was good to deal with an aggressive fish with no issues.

Yesterday and this morning I jigged for whatever and ended up with some Black Sea Bass. Didn’t expect these but after I went home and id’ed them I realized I could go back to the mark I made and fish for these for dinner...

So any tips would be welcome. I caught three on my own 1oz jig in white and chartreuse tipped with a gulp minnow in about 40’ of water. If I added a dropper (as in fluke rig) would I be more successful? 

I’ll be out in the morning as the conditions look very good till noon or so.

Adding a dropper is worth a shot. When I target seabass I just go with jig only ...been successful with deadly dicks, AVAs, crippled herring. 

Metal jigs (avas) and blade baits will weed out the smaller BSB. If you fish a teaser plain bucktail/feathered teasers do well, and also slim profile plastics like a fluke jr.

Gulp (or bait) will catch all sizes...but I'd start with plain metal and target the big ones first. Also, the biggest BSB in a school will often suspend high off the piece you're working. One of the tastiest fish around!

mjhyfrdd.jpg

mggdfdhg.jpg

Interesting. When I was fishing BSB  I almost always was getting smaller fish on metal - vs bucktail and minnow teaser on dropper loop.

Well ... turns out these were grouper, black grouper or gag. Minimum length needs to be 24” - these were juveniles, 18-20”

On 8/13/2018 at 9:40 PM, oceanAddict said:

Interesting. When I was fishing BSB  I almost always was getting smaller fish on metal - vs bucktail and minnow teaser on dropper loop.