DE Beachguy

DelMarVa custom rod thread

Rate this topic

1,344 posts in this topic

Since some guys started discussing custom rods on the Fishing Report thread, and since I've started to get interested in the topic myself wink.gif , I thought I'd start a "local" or DelMarVa custom rod thread. Maybe we can exchange ideas for rods that we like to use on DelMarVa, what works well for us here, personal preferences, etc, etc....

So, to start adding to the discussion, I'll mention that I recently test-casted my brand-newly-built Lami 1502.drool.gif I can already tell it's everything it's cracked up to be, as far as I can tell so far, and I admit I am relatively new to custom-rod experience. It is one sweet rod...light and strong, just as Poppy testified.

I had it done with all black wraps with a few subdued gold threads at the ends and middle of each wrap...all SiC...16 tip, 16, 16, 16 or 20, 20, 25, 30 (unless I'm leaving one out)...real nice job. biggrin.gif

Now, I'm curious about maybe doing a Mudhole 1502 for comparison. I have a couple second-hand custom 10' Lamis...one classic yellow telephone pole Hatteras Heaver (and another similar one I have yet to pick up out of state) and one older graphite 120 4-12oz drum rod.

Koss, I like the old school idea of the classic yellow Lami with the Squidder. I was considering getting the 11.5' yellow Lami blank. I can show you the mags I put in my Squidders, too...the Lee Valley cups/magnets set-up.

I think I "get" the custom rod addiction! wink.gif Hope this generates some interest...

Jay

I'd be interested in anyone's opinion on the LAMI 1502 vs Mudhole 1502. I think i recall someone once telling me that the mudhole's are made by lamiglas, just labeled by mudhole.

anyone cast one right after the other?

I've heard that the MHs are Lami blems, and I've heard they aren't...just a bit lighter but with same specs. I really don't know the story there.

Jay