tomkaz

Lake O dsichsrges, moving from St Lucie to southern route

38 posts in this topic

Was out with charter captain today. He said they Lake O discharges that had been flowing out of the St Lucie River system are now being diverted south and will come out of Jupiter Intlet. Seems the folks up North complained loudly enough that they will get some relief.

Not sure of the is the Lake Loxahatchee system or not, I am a relative newb. 

This sucks no matter how they dump that green soup. 

St lucie is a smaller river and less tidal flow. It doesn’t have the ability to flush the crap out faster. Last week they lowered/stopped flows down it. 

The condition of the calossahatchee river here is a mess. The alge is now in Ft Myers city limits and headed out to the gulf. It’s toxic, blue green slime. Red tide is at high concentrations all around the Sanibel/ coya costa islands. 

If someone had dumped this garbage in the rivers and killed this wildlife they be in jail. Our gov does the damage and all is well. 

I hiked to the north end of Hobe Beach and saw the color of the flow mixing into the ocean, it's worse than muddy. I figured the reason they used the north of Hobe Beach (St Lucie) is it's deserted, 6 miles from development to the south.

The motels/resorts on the north and south ends of Jupiter Inlet  probably won't take this lightly.

When it’s all said and done one big item from  the direction not being south comes to thought. Population of the area. 

This is right down the middle of the state. Any expansion now of development happens east of Rt 75 on the west coast. There is no room on this side of the highway. That was once all Everglades at one time. They want the area dry, can’t build on standing water. The gradient of the state of Florida is so minimal that help is needed in way of human intervention.