Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
The Riddler

Deer Island Winthrop MA Kayak Fishing Ramp...need your help!

10 posts in this topic

We are trying to reach out to Marine Fisheries for help to build a paddle fishing launch. The new pier construction is starting in 2 months from  July 1st. It is imperative that we get emails out. If anyone here as fished Deer Island you know as well as I do, you have to hop that concrete wall and shimmy the kayak over. Having a ramp of some sort would be a premium and also get kayak anglers away from injury. I have the director's email from Marine Fisheries. He is the man we will need to contact. Copy of the email I just sent.  Just like the new pier being constructed in less than two months, the funds will come from our Salt Water License fee unless I hear different.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

david.pierce@state.ma.us

"My name is Jeffrey Lopez I am a resident of Winthrop, MA. I am a life long fisherman in Massachusetts Waters From Cape Cod to Gloucester. My main method of fishing is by kayak and I spend 5 months of the season fishing the Deer Island area during our run of Striped Bass, Flounder, and perhaps again one day, Cod. Our fishery is outstanding thanks to the efforts of Marine Fisheries and the clean water from the MWRA and we hope things will continue to improve. Boston Harbor is now a premier destination for anglers from all over the world.