Theflyguy

Two hand rods for the salt

482 posts in this topic

Hey I am fairly new to the two hand world and am curious what most of you guys use in the beaches for stripers? I know about grain weights but am still working that out per rod. So I do fine with my 7 wt 12.6 with around 450ish grains when it’s not too windy. I am looking to get two more Spey/switch rods this season one a 4 wt for trout which I might make a different post for and a heavier rod for the surf then my 7 for windy days and who knows maybe even good days. Just looking to see what you guys are running rod weight and grain wait of line. As we all know the two hand line game can get exspensive. So maybe a list of you guys set ups could help me narrow down what I am looking for. 

Here's my kit:

Rod:

North Fork Composites SA 1235-2, a blank which I built into a dedicated overhead casting rod for the beach. A decent commercially available rod is the TFO pandion 9wt. We don't have many very good out front overhead double handers commercially available. The best ones have been built from blanks. I'd be very surprised if Mike Oliver didn't comment in on this, as he's the TH guru here. 

Reel:

Lamson Liquid 4 (I wanted the remix HD in the same size but funds were short). 

Lines:

Scientific Anglers Ultimate Scandi Taper shooting heads, Float, hover/intermediate, and sink 5, all 8/9 wt (525 grains). They work fantastic, never felt a need for anything else.  I use a floating running line for my floating shooting head, and intermediate running lines for everything else. They're standard fly running lines, much easier to handle than mono in rough surf, and less stretch too. 

I fish a Beulah Opal 7/8 with a 450gr. Serum integrated line. They do make this rod in a 9/10 also which does have the gut for when the wind is a factor.  The 7/8 does all that I need and is fun to cast to boot.