OrtleyBeach35

Beach replineshment, the good, the bad, the ugly

Rate this topic

88 posts in this topic

I am by no means an expert, and not against or for it...

but... with all the commentary as to why we haven’t seen the fish as years past I thought this would be a good place start some good fact finding...

Many opinions I’ve heard,  but doesn’t it ultimately protect the beaches? If we just let nature take its course would we be better off?  

IMO I’d rather see some structure being built off shore, some interesting projects being completed with old subway cars being stripped and placed strategically in low oceans floors....

I've heard many grumblings from Ocean County as ACOE has been filling the beaches.  Welcome to the party.  In the short term you can expect:
-Poor fishing

-Crappy, coarse sand

-Dangerous shorebreak

-Long term construction project/complete mess on the beaches

-Possible munitions deposited on the beach (no digging holes- kaboom!)

The only thing that possibly works is a good (natural) dune system, which I believe they are at least attempting in Ocean County.

Pumping the sand and notching jetties, as anyone can attest to from Monmouth County, is a complete waste of money.  A temporary fix to reduce erosion that washes away quickly each year, requiring constant renourishment to keep the status quo.  As Sandy demonstrated, it does NOTHING in the face of a real storm, other than wash feet of sand into the roads and people's living rooms.

At this point the ACOE goal is "land preservation".  The beaches are more or less a buffer now against land (and home) erosion. 

Strategic retreat is the only real lasting solution, but that is a pipe dream.

One thing i've seen that blows my mind is bulldozing of sand into huge piles.  To me, all that is doing is force feeding the ocean even more sand off the beach. The great walls of sand have nothing to hold onto.  And if the storm doesn't hit we're left with these piles of **** in late summer.