Point Lookout Memorial Day Weekend

Rate this topic

Can anyone offer some tips for fishing in the Point Lookout State Park area? I'm new to Surf/Pier fishing (grew up on Lake Erie) and wonder if I would be better off in the inlets or Lake Conoy, the Potomac, or Chesapeake Bay? Better off on the pier or pet or people beaches? Just looking for some general tips, bait, times of day, etc.

I have a Penn Batallion 10'6" Medium Heavy Rod, Penn Battle II 6000 rod spooled with 30# Braid. I have some paternoster rigs, tons of jigs and plastics (tubes, worms, shad), tons of crankbaits, jerkbaits, etc. For articifical bait, I have salt clams and fish bites (shrimp). I can pickup live bait or snag sand fleas too.

Thanks in advance!

I've tried Point Lookout several times without much success.  Last summer I did catch about 20 flounder in a couple hours (all exactly ten inches long) after I figured out what was chewing off the tails of my gulp jigs. The best bet is probably after sunset for croakers, which have just begun to show up.

When busy, the pier is about the most unfriendly of any I have ever visited. The locals are territorial and confrontational. There is certainly lots of available water besides the pier. It all looks good - I just haven't had success, but others do when the bite is on. 

Not sure when you are planning on fishing, but the place gets so crowded on weekends and holidays that they sometimes have to stop allowing entrance to the park. Also, the biting flies can be supernatural.

As far as Potomac vs. Chesapeake, well, I would suspect the fish would be on the side where the wind is in your face and the fishing is less convenient.