14 posts in this topic

I am picking up this rod soon and was wondering what size Stella or Saltiga would best match. This is a tough choice for me as I have zero experience with any of the above. I'm DEAD set on rod. 

Thanx in advance !!

10k Stella or 5000h Saltiga would be my choices.  Also can't go wrong with the 14k Stella or the 5500h Saltiga Expedition if you want more firepower.  

The 1328 11’ will work just fine with stella8000 to 18000, and saltiga5000 to 8000/7000 dogflight;  If you are pluging i would go with smaller reel with lighter weight; for canal jigging ... 6500H or 14k would be better option.  Or Just buy 2 reels so you have backup

Same ballpark...but keep in mind that the Saltiga 5500 (Expedition) is only available as an import...Here in the states, it's 4000, 5000, 6000 (which is huge) and 8000 (plus dogfight sizes)

6 mins ago, Flatheadfletch said:

Is the 10k Steel same size as 5500 Saltiga ?

Pretty close I think. 

I use an "old" Stella SW10000 with my 1328. Works great for both plugging and jigging the canal.

I live in Alabama. I fish 3 big rivers for big blue cats and flatheads. I also fish Destin off the beach ! Dauphin Island for HammerHead sharks. I have lots of gear ! Tournament 5500 Entoh 45 Basia Ultegra ci4 5500 xsb and all ss whisker Daiwas. This ROD n REEL I'm setting up will be my big gun ! Long range sniper 4-6 n bait !  When plugging I'll use Basia. Does this help y'all to more better help me decide ?  I would like to be able to plug with the Saltiga or Stella , just not for hours on end !

11 hours ago, fishing1975 said:

The 1328 11’ will work just fine with stella8000 to 18000, and saltiga5000 to 8000/7000 dogflight;  If you are pluging i would go with smaller reel with lighter weight; for canal jigging ... 6500H or 14k would be better option.  Or Just buy 2 reels so you have backup

Could you use a vs150? 

TLap21.