Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
AndyS

Tilt / Trim Weak Battery Question

Rate this topic

15 posts in this topic

Folks could use some advice and I’ll try to explain my battery set up as best as I can.  Today I hit the tilt/trim switch on my Yamaha F40 and got no response.

I have a Deka Marine Master cranking battery, as well as a Deka Seamate AGM battery for my trolling motor.  The batteries are connected together through a ProMite 5/5 Double Bank On-Board Marine Battery Charger.  Basically there is no switch, it’s just a connection so the AGM battery will charge when the outboard is running.  I also have a plug coming off the unit, so when I haven’t used the boat for a while I can plug it in and trickle charge the battery from home.

So I definitely know I have a battery issue, as I’ve had the Marine Battery Charger plugged in for and hour and the Trim / Tilt is once again working.  Unfortunately since the boat dealership did all the wiring 5 years ago (original batteries) and my Skiff set up is so tight - I’ve never had a good handle on the battery wiring.  Again, it’s a pretty basic set up that requires no manual intervention.  I’m thinking the trim / tilt is likely powered by the main marine cranking battery.  If that is correct, perhaps it’s time for me to simply replace the cranking battery?  I’m honestly not sure when I plug in to trickle charge the battery, does that give a boost to the cranking battery, the AGM battery, or both?  As mentioned, what I do know is after I plugged in for a trickle charge, the tilt trim started working again.

Was planning to fish at first light tomorrow, but think I’ll bag that now.  Don’t want to get on the water if the main cranking battery needs to be replaced.  Any advice would be appreciated, and yes I’ll admit I’m showing my ignorance on all this.  I’ve learned a ton about my boat, maintenance on the outboard, etc in 5 years - but will admit the battery connections do not come easy to me.

40 mins ago, Kml said: