Power Pro break offs

Rate this topic

InvokeFifth

On three occasions with 2 different set-ups while casting a lure my line snapped. The guides are perfect and I didn’t notice fraying. I’ve been fishing for 50 years and never had this issue. The only constant was using Power Pro braid. First 2 times it happened was 20lb and this morning 30lb. 

Anyone else can experiencing this issue?

Looks like I’ll be changing the line on my reels. Any suggestions?

Thanks. 

"It's tough to end your fishing trip when catching fish, but it's harder to end it when you're not."

Joe X

Power Pro was known for having bad batches of braid and a lot of mystery breakoffs.  Many people seem to switch to Power Pro super slick, or other brands. There are many great braids out there. I have been using suffix 832 and love it, many guys like J braid.  There are a few threads on the site about braids. Check them out and good luck

Suggestion: Fireline. I, and many others better than me, have used Fireline since it came out, switched to try other lines and returned to Fireline. It doesn't cast as far as some other lines, but it is exceptionally strong and has the best abrasion resistance I've seen. 

I agree with Baldwin.  Fireline is much thicker in diameter than all the braids for the same rating.  Hence, its breaking stength is much higher than rated.  14 lb fireline is like 30 lb braid, 20lb. fireline is like 50lb or greater braid.  30 lb. fireline is like 65lb or greater braid, so keep that in mind when looking at sizing it, both in braking strength and the amount of line you will be able to get on the reel.

It's abrasion resistance is much better.  Perhaps as the stands aren't braided together, they don't trap sand in them to wear and grind.  Also, across rocks, the same scenario, not all strands hit the same sharp points.