gooner

Advice for newcomer to fly fishing(transition from spinning)

Rate this topic

41 posts in this topic

Hello to everyone! i am new to fly fishing general and especially to SWFF(but not new to fishing i fish with spinning for 5 years).i am from greece and you cant find anything here for this technique nor gear nor knowledge!spinning dominates the market here absolutely!my target is to fish for sea bass mainly(also bluefish too beacause they live in the same places as seabass)!i know where to find them and when i know the tides and the moon phases so i am ok with watercraft!after a lot of research to the internet and a lot of articles and videos that i found i understand that i need an 8wt rod and reel for this type of fishing and 3 different types of lines(floating, intemidate and sinking).i searched a lot all the brands and i have some candidates for both reel and rod!for reel i liked a lot lamson liquid(especially the pack with the 2 spare spolls) reddington behemoth,orvis clearwater and piscifun plate!all of them have large arbors from 3.8 to 4 diametre!behemoth and piscifun are the only one that are given for saltwater use but has no sealed drag(i think liquid has ).i am edging towards the liquid mainly of the 2 extra spolls and the brand that i think is one of the best!also i spoke with some people that they use it at saltwater and they said me that they had no problem with corrosion with rinse after each session!now for rods i liked a lot fenwick aetos,tfo clouser,orvis clearwater,tfo bvk( a bit more expensive) and loop q !aetos, clouser and bvk are fast action.clearwater and loop q are more moderate-fast!i think i need a rod that is good at 75-80 feet and over beacuse at our waters we need some distance especially if we fish from the shore!thats all from me! if you have any extra suggestions for reels rod lines i want to hear!if there is a book that has some concetraded knowledge i would be thankfull!and sorry for the long post but i have a lot of ques