Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
catman

bucktails

Rate this topic

14 posts in this topic

I'm pretty thrifty, but I was wondering if anyone uses the brown fur of the bucktail in addition to the white. Also, how do you decide how long to tie the bucktail past the bend in the hook? Do you use the full length (sometimes 3") or do you trim it? Thanks in advance for your help.

PawlieTextText

I'm new to tying but have used the dark part of colored bucktails if tying that color with a dark color; e.g. belly or chin; darker parts usually shorter - you'll get lots of answers from experienced tyers if you post in the flytying forum

I use the brown fur when tying teasers for when sand eels are around. soemtimes when you lokk at em in the water, there top is brown and the underside white. I take 5-10 strands of the brown and tie that on top of all the white. makes it look nice. as far as trimming the excess length off, I think its personal preference. how long is the bait your trying to imitate. IMO, i think its better to have things a little longer, it give the teaser/bucktails a better profile in the water.

I would definitely use the brown on the back if that's what your pattern calls for. Escpecially since most shops(including ours) around here don't carry brown bucktail.

JBJ

Betty and Nicks

------------------

Catman,

I jut started tying my own jigs, and for the amount of white bucktail that gets mixed in, I don't particularly care. Not all bait looks the same.

As far as using it on purpose, one of my teasers is a bunker imitation, which I incorporate a litle brown in. The fish seem to like it ad it would take me about ten years to run out of it. smile.gif

--Geoff

------------------

-------------------------

Team L&H

GMiller@StripersOnline.com

Catman,