thread color change when adding epoxy?

Rate this topic

BroadSoundBound

Hey Guys,

I'm new to rod building and my first project is an old school 8 ft fiberglass surf rod that was in rough shape. I painted the blank, added a new reel seat and replaced dried up cork with some cork tape. I'm using the existing guides and after my first application of epoxy on the guide the white thread is basically transparent. I already used white thread closer towards the butt of the rod just for a decorative thread wrap and it didn't fade. I used the mudhole pro kit for thread wrap epoxy on the guide and that's what changed colors. On the other thread wraps I used 5 min epoxy and the color stayed true. Pics for reference. Not sure what happened. 

greenrod1.jpg

greenrod2.jpg

greenrod3jpg.jpg

greenrod4.jpg

they make thread that does have color preserve in it also I would have not used 5 minute. 1. not as waterproof, 2 will yellow and soften from sun 3 gets air bubbles and keeps them because cures to fast when you use a 1 hour most bubbles will come out the air bubbles may also make it look cloudy also the pro kit was thinner and took longer to dry penetrated threads where the 5 minute cured right on top

Edited by onthefly

Coat it with a coat of Lacquer first and then the color will stay the same.  Or a coat of color presurver  

Do not stir the liquid ( Poly or Varnish )  and if you see any air bubbles, as you brush on.  Then brush over the thread fast and they should go away.  Try using a acid brush, cut the brush at an angle. Stiff brush is better, then a soft one. 

Edited by ccb

11 hours ago, BroadSoundBound said:

Thanks, I'm glad I'm getting starting on a rod that I bought for short money as I'm building a Lamiglas MB84-1E-H next and want that to come up much cleaner then my first attempt. I had no idea I had to treat thread before applying epoxy, learning curve.