DomNJ

One piece or two?

Rate this topic

48 posts in this topic

Hi

Ive been scouring the forum for advice on a rod.  I'm a total noob to surf fishing and one thing I can't get my head around is whether I should look for a 1 or 2 piece rod.

I'm planning to surf off the beach and some jetties (Jersey shore) and best I can tell from all I'm reading I think I should be looking for something in the 10 to 11 foot range that's moderate/fast and can throw a lure that's up to 4 or 5 oz.  What isn't as clear is whether I should get a 1 or 2 piece rod, or if it matters.  Breaking it down for transporting doesn't much matter as it's only a couple blocks walk to the beach from my summer place. 

Also, for those who fish NJ beaches/jetties is there anything else I should be looking for?  

I'm hoping to come across something in the BST over the coming weeks and I want to know what I should be targeting 

Thanks

Your gonna have a lot more options in 2 pc. For the most part I find it does not matter. Transportation is easier with a 2pc but the top half does twist every now and then although it takes 5 seconds to realign it. The only time I want a one piece is pencil popping. I find the twist happens so often when using pencils its every cast I have to realign. 

There's a real nice fiberstar raptor in the bsc for a great price. Sounds like it might be what your looking for. I have one and its a fantastic rod.

If a rod is rated up to 5 or 6oz it will most likely be comfortable throwing 3 to 4oz. A two piece is much handier and it's not just about transporting it. Think about bringing a 10-11ft rod indoors, even a 70-30 two piece split is awkward, you really have to pay attention to the tip.

Thanks, that’s helpful.