Mwalsh787

Paddling Gear for Cooler SC Weather

15 posts in this topic

Hello All!

I have been kayak fishing for a few years now and kayaking for at least twelve years, so I have some experience.  However, I am getting more and more into fishing the May River here in Bluffton, SC, and I'd like to continue through the winter months.  I am undecided on the right cooler weather gear.  I very much respect the expertise and experience of the folks in these forums, so I thought I might ask the experts!  I dive a bit, so I do have a 3 and a 5 mil wetsuit that I could employ, but I wonder if there aren't better solutions.  A dry suit isn't in the budget right now, so I wondered if there may be some advice for the right clothing/gear for paddling in the cooler weather here in SC.  I do carry a VHF radio with DSC on each trip, as well as a few different signaling devices and a cell phone in a Stormr bag, but I am very open to suggestions on safety gear as well.  Thanks in advance for any suggestions that you may have!

I think your water temps won't get below the 55 degree mark, which is still cold. If it's sunny out and 60's or 70's the 3mm may have a shot but the reality is you could see 30's in the morning, which would make the 5mm wet-suit the better option. What you need to do is find out how your wet suit acts with some splash on it. Some wet suits don't do well out of the water and in the wind you can get chilled.  Some folks wear splash gear over their wetsuit to take away the chill. Take both wetsuits out and try em out before you launch then you will know which one will work better for you.

11 mins ago, The Riddler said: