Dan_evan1

ODM Jigster 4-10oz by CMS Tackle

Rate this topic

88 posts in this topic

Hey guys, first time poster here, long time fisherman. Born and raised on Cape Cod, I’ve been fishing for over 20 years, 10 of which I’d consider “serious”, and figured I’d try to make my first post here somewhat interesting and informative. 

This past spring I had contacted Lou Caruso about a potential build for an all-around Cape Cod Canal rod. Something similar to a Slingshot 1328 (which I had already owned). Lou being Lou is much more in tune with new companies and the quality of the blanks being released. 

I told him what I’d be looking for out of a rod, what I threw for plugs/jigs/Swimmers etc, and Lou turned me onto ODM, specifically the 11’ 4-10oz Jigster. He spoke of the incredibly wide range this blank can throw, its ability to lean on fish in the tide, and he thought it would be a perfect fit for what I was looking for.

I didn’t want be that guy with 17 rods in his bike, and really wanted to narrow it down to just 2-3 max (one being a lighter schoolie/albie setup). 

Rated for up to 33 pounds of drag and 4-10oz lures I was expecting this blank to be a heavy telephone pole, and frankly had my doubts. I contacted CMS and had the opportunity to throw their 10’ model with a variety of my stuff, and immediately put a build into place.

So after being paired with a Saltiga 6500h, over the next 2 months of fishing I would throw everything from SP minnows (the 1 7/8oz salt pro) to 7.5 oz. Bill Hurley’s (paddle tail included), and even an 8 oz trolling stick shad, jigging, plugging, and taking fish up to 44 pounds in moontides, I can say without question this blank is incredible.