Fish caught on weed fouled plugs/lures

Rate this topic

beret

Anyone catch on a weed fouled plug or lure..........many times when I retrieve my plug it may have a strand or two or three of weed......I always stop to clean it off but wonder is that different than a tail or siwash and would the fish know the difference..........curious what you guys think........

Interesting question and I have often thought about it, but it will have to remain speculation unless someone wants to start adding a little ''salad'' on their lure when they fish to test it out. There is no way to know when a fish bites whether your lure was clean or not.

To answer your query, no, but I will tell you this. One dark night I was using spooks and metal lipped swimmers , dragging in floatsome trash. I could hear the fish slapping and crashing out there. In my bag was a super heavy sinking blurple needle that I've never used before. Casted as hard as I could, got over the floating carpet of crap, let it sink then twitched. One of my best nights ever. Fowled swimmer, eel with a moustache,not good. Needle in the weeds, twitched , yes for me.

There is a difference between interest and commitment. When you are interested in something you do it only when it is convenient. When you are committed to something you accept no excuses and produce only results. Author unknown.