FunkyColdMedina

How late is too late for Stripers?

Rate this topic

28 posts in this topic

Noob here and want to extend the fishing season.  How late in the year are Stripers around the South Shore of Mass (Quincy/Weymouth)? Thought I saw October but unsure. 

After the stripers are gone, what other species are good to target and what rig? Live bait or artificials?

42 minutes ago, Ditch Jigger said:

I've caught schoolies in the Canal in December.

First week of December for me.  32" but it wasn't a keeper because it was the mid 90's 

7 hours ago, Ditch Jigger said:

I've caught schoolies in the Canal in December.

2 years ago guy were catching keepers in December from the ditch... we saw guys catching mackerel on Christmas Day down at the basin

On 10/6/2017 at 2:43 PM, TBYRD said:

Do the peanuts and other small bait migrate to the South?

Many do migrate though juvenile River Herring  hang out in ponds & lakes year round till it’s time to head out.

Lots of schoolies and some larger bass hang out in small and large rivers all winter long.

Edited by Skitter

On 10/6/2017 at 3:42 PM, The BuzzardsBayBruin said:

2 years ago guy were catching keepers in December from the ditch... we saw guys catching mackerel on Christmas Day down at the basin

Christmas day 2 years ago wasn't that day 60 degrees on the cape, was a great winter day if I remember correctly haha

Trying to figure out where to go after work today for low tide. I work in Canton, so usually the Quincy area is the easiest for me to get to. My usual spot at Nut Island hasnt been producing lately. Can anyone point me to wheres been hot?

5 hours ago, saltyb92 said:

Trying to figure out where to go after work today for low tide. I work in Canton, so usually the Quincy area is the easiest for me to get to. My usual spot at Nut Island hasnt been producing lately. Can anyone point me to wheres been hot?

I fished Marshfield and Duxbury and the canal over the weekend and never broke 25"