Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
PS

Wind and wave direction ?

Rate this topic

27 posts in this topic

I'm new to casting for stripers from the shore and I have read it is best to fish beach A with "X" or "Y" wind direction (BFD often comments on wind) , other than how it effects casting right or left handed is there more to it ? Also I fished PI south the other day and after I read a comment that waves there tend to be going north to Newburyport but on the other side of the mouth they head south. How does this effect tactics ?

Thanks

PS

Some beaches are miserable for fly casting in certain winds. For me, at a minimum that determines if I use an 8 or a 9 weight, or if I go there at all. But wind and waves also effect where bait may pile up against structure from jetties and rocks to something as discreet as a sandbar. That's where it pays to spend a lot of time observing a beach in different conditions and looking for opportunities...

In just about all cases the tide in different areas will run in one direction on incoming and the opposite on the drop. They wind in most cases will not change the direction of the tide. It is rare that that would ever happen. The wind will at times hold water in on a dropping tide and may cause a delay on your reaching a certain location you would normally be able to get to at a certain time in the tide. It may cause a rise faster on an incoming forcing you to vacate sooner than anticipated. With all of that I don't let the wind change how I fish an area pertaining to tide direction. The wind may make me change my position or station on some areas. I just want the wind at my back that is my major priority.

The area you mention on each side of the creek if I am understanding it correctly seems to have the tide moving in oppose direction. I would think this may be more due to the way the bottom structure affects the flow than the wind.