FunkyColdMedina

Help with SP Minnow Retrieve

Rate this topic

32 posts in this topic

Newbie here trying surf fishing.  I purchased three different colored SP Minnows and tried them out.  No success but I was wondering if I was properly retrieving them.  What are your recommendations on the proper retrievement method?  Does it vary by the color of the minnow? 

Willing to to learn from all of your experiences.

thanks! 

In most cases I have found the floating models to be the most effective. I like to keep the sp minnow as close to the surface as possible by a fairly slow steady retrieve with the rod tip up. A lot of guys like to twitch the lure every couple feet as it is reeled in. I only do this when I can see the fish aggressively feeding. If you aren't getting hits with the sp minnow I would try fishing on the bottom with a buck tail. The longer you surf fish the better you will get at what to throw and when. Typically if I don't see fish busting I will first try a top water lure just because it is my favorite thing to throw. If I don't get any hits in a couple of cast I will try a subsurface lure (metal lip, sp minnow). If that doesn't drawl any strikes then I will go to the buck tail... somedays the fish just aren't biting!

As far as colors I like natural bait fish color patterns. But you can't go wrong with the bone color for striper.

Edited by cec127

Don't over think it, just launch it and retrieve at a constant speed. As mentioned if fish are visibly feeding, adding a twitch doesn't hurt but I have had the most success with a constant retrieve. I prefer the sinking models over the floating model, especially the 6 3/4" size. As far as colors, chicken scratch and burple seem to be my best producers