rickhern

Kayak Rod butt length

20 posts in this topic

I have 2 st croix 7-9 swimbait blanks, rated 1-4, that I am going to wrap(1 spin, 1 conv) to fish out of the kayak. Will be mostly using these to throw eels/riggies. I am somewhat vertically challenged at 5-7. Anyone have an idea on ideal butt length? I would prefer to make them so short that they would serve no other purpose. 

Thanks guys.

Put a tube reel seat on the blank, dry, and put a reel in it. Slide it fore and aft, and pretend you are fishing. In about 30 seconds, you'll find a spot that feels right. Put the reel seat there. 

Keep them regular 6'-7'6" inshore rod length.Thats a lot of rod to throw seated from a yak. Big casts are not always needed when your already out there. Too long a handle on a yak is worse than a little short. Mock it up, get in the yak and see what works.

I'm no expert, but putting myself in your shoes I'd be frustrated no one is giving numbers. I just measured my Tiger Lite, arguably the most popular kayak rod. I'm 5'8" and find it great. It's 16 3/8"   from butt to top of reel seat, 14 1/2" to the center of the reel arm of a Penn SSV4500.

1 hour ago, gellfex said:

I'm no expert, but putting myself in your shoes I'd be frustrated no one is giving numbers. I just measured my Tiger Lite, arguably the most popular kayak rod. I'm 5'8" and find it great. It's 16 3/8"   from butt to top of reel seat, 14 1/2" to the center of the reel arm of a Penn SSV4500.

ahh, thank you. Good starting point.

OK don't lock me up. I have a nice almost parabolic 8' blank with the butt  about a seven inch butt. Just enough to have the handle clear my gut sitting or standing.

I also have a section that I can install in the but to make a beach casting rod out of it,

It might take an hour to figure out how to cast it and after that you won't go back.

WHY DON'T YOU TRY TAPING ON YOUR GUIDES AN GIVE IT A TRY.

On 8/3/2017 at 3:25 PM, oldgoat said: