MagicDrop

Questions?

Rate this topic

10 posts in this topic

I am new to surfcasting and altogether marine fishing (have done freshwater since I was a kid). 

I was at Jones Beach today with my son at field 10 on the docks. And saw people fishing for a few different things. I have a few questions.

People near the start of the dock we're pulling in these little fish. 1 what are they called? 2 how do I tie a rig so my son can fish for them? I noticed they had no bait they were just bobbing like 6 hooks on a line up and down.

What should I be buying to fish for Stripers and Blues? Also how should I be rigging it?

The fishermen/ fisherwomen  were using sabiki  rigs jigging this time of the year probably for real small snappers, baby blue fish....Then they probably live lined these snappers to go for blues or stripers..I comes with a swivel that you attach to your fishing line. On the bottom of the rig there is a snap to attach a one ounce weight. And you just jig up and down... For what you should purchase all depends on what you own now. 

Ok, get a couple of sabiki in various sizes,twelve and ten size hooks. Some some spoons in two and three ounce...  The spoons will serve two purposes, casting for Blues and Stripers, also for snagging Bunker for bait....

Magic,

As a father who regularly takes his 10 and 6 year old fishing, I'm happy to chime in here.

Don't over-complicate with a sabiki...lots of little hooks means lots of tangles and forget having your son fish with it.

Go to any Walmart or B&T shop and buy the smallest hooks you can find like a #10 .. the snappers are basically "micro" snappers at this point.

Get yourself a small bobber ( I like them with weight ) here is an example = HERE