Mntlmaxx

Who else is a spoonman?

22 posts in this topic

Ok, I have been gifted a handfull of johnson 1/8oz spoons in various colors. I'll be honest, I have never used a spoon before so I don't know techniques for temp., species, or time of year. I got a recommendation to try a silver one for skipjack (catfish bait) but would the hook on the 1/8 oz be too large? (I want this to be an open topic and maybe lead to a start of newbie threads to explain certain bait/lure presentations.) I did find some info but for that specific question I can't find answer. Thank you all and good luck fishing.

Roland Martin used spoons to deadly effect on Okeechobee in heavy cover back before the turn of the century.  Usually rigged w a 3-4" grub as a trailer.  I think most have gone to rubber frogs that fish that type of cover nowadays.

I use them for trout when the water gets colder. I use 1/4 oz and 1/3 oz, but I basically just cast them as far as i can and use a steady retrieve. You can throw in an occasional rod twitch, but depending on the action of the spoon you may not need to

I still carry a few Johnson silver minnow spoons . I don't really throw them as much as I used to however. Probably due to not having any more decent pork frogs to add to them.

Spoons are very versital in freshwater.  I got a box full of little cleos, kastmasters, phoebes, acme, daredevil, super-dupers, etc... they can be cast-n-retrieved, trolled, or fished vertical from a boat.

Weedless-Spoons.gif

These are spoons pictured in an In-fisherman publication.  A spoon is a thin piece of metal hammered flat and then bent to shape.  Some of the baits pat the nat mentions are not spoons, but blade baits.  

for me spoons have been very successful for two fish species :

Pickrel where as the Red Devil is the choice , burned thru the water column 

Red Fish , Johnson's gold spoon & Capt Mikes Aqua dream which imitates a crab , mostly sight fishing the dropping tide ( PB 31" Crystal River Fla )