Tennfish

Antique Boat Fishing Rod Restoration

Rate this topic

4 posts in this topic

I am new to rod restoration. The only rod repairs I have done have been replacing broken tips. I am asking for help on 7 rods that I have acquired over the years that have outlived their ability to function as fishing tools. I want to restore them to the point of looking restored for the purpose of retiring them to a place of honor on the wall of our home. They do not have to be fully functional, but I want to make them look good. I have made measurements and taken four pictures of them and made a list of the repairs I want to make. 3 are thick bamboo saltwater boat rods (I have labeled as A, B, and C); 2 are either fiberglass/graphite boat rods (D -spinning and E - trolling/casting); and two are hexagon shaped bamboo boat rods ( F and G). All rods will have reels attached - 6 old saltwater open face reels and 1 spinning reel.

Rod A - is a complete thick Bamboo rod 107" long. My questions for this rod are:
1. Should I add 1 - 2 eyes? and where are the best sources for finding them?;
2. Thread material and size for re-wrapping the fore grip?
3. Finishing coat varnish or epoxy for bamboo?
4. Finish coat same or different for wood handle?

Rod B - is thick Bamboo rod 97" long from tip to end of male ferrule, without a handle assembly. Male ferrule is 1.03" OD at the base where the bamboo enters and the length of the base is 3/4" before the flare reduces to .975" OD at the tip, which is 2 1/4" long, making the total ferrule length approximately 3". For this rod I need help with:
1. Wooden foregrip or other foregrip suggestions;
2. Chrome reel seat size recommedations and best sources for finding;
3. Wooden butt and some type of gimble